Basic Features of the Indian Political System: NABARD Grade A, Descriptive ESI

Basic Features of the Indian Political System


  • The Indian political system is a complex and diverse framework that governs the world’s largest democracy.
  • Several fundamental features characterize the system and are essential for understanding its functioning.

1. Federal Structure:

  • Division of Powers: India follows a federal structure, where powers are divided between the central government and state governments.
  • List of Subjects: The Constitution categorizes subjects into three lists – Union List (central government), State List (state governments), and Concurrent List (both).

2. Parliamentary System:

  • Bicameral Legislature: India has a bicameral parliament consisting of the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People).
  • Responsible Government: The executive (council of ministers) is collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha, ensuring parliamentary accountability.

3. Multi-Party System:

  • Diversity of Political Parties: India boasts a multiplicity of political parties representing various ideologies, regions, and interests.
  • Coalition Governments: Coalitions are common due to the diversity of parties, leading to complex political dynamics.

4. Secularism:

  • Religious Neutrality: The Indian Constitution promotes religious neutrality, treating all religions equally and maintaining a separation of religion from the state.

5. Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles:

  • Individual Rights: The Constitution guarantees fundamental rights to citizens, including freedom of speech, religion, and equality before the law.
  • Directive Principles: The state is directed to promote social and economic justice, welfare, and a just and equitable society.

6. Independent Judiciary:

  • Supreme Court: India has an independent judiciary with the Supreme Court at its apex, ensuring the interpretation and protection of the Constitution.
  • Judicial Review: The judiciary has the power of judicial review to assess the constitutional validity of laws and actions.

7. Universal Adult Suffrage:

  • Right to Vote: All Indian citizens aged 18 and above have the right to vote, making India one of the world’s largest democracies.

8. Rule of Law:

  • Equality and Justice: The Constitution enshrines the principle of equality before the law, ensuring justice and fairness for all citizens.

9. Local Self-Governance:

  • Panchayats and Municipalities: The system of Panchayati Raj and Urban Local Bodies promotes decentralized governance and grassroots democracy.

10. Fundamental Duties:

  • Citizen Responsibilities: The Constitution includes a list of fundamental duties that citizens are expected to fulfill.

Conclusion: The Indian political system’s basic features, from its federal structure and parliamentary system to secularism and an independent judiciary, are essential for understanding the complex and diverse nature of governance in the world’s largest democracy. These features form the foundation of India’s democratic and constitutional framework, providing a blueprint for political and administrative functioning.